DP World Tour

DP World Tour 2023 Ras Al Khaimah Championship

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

Daniel Gavins wins the 2023 Ras Al Khaimah Championship

The second edition of the Ras Al Khaimah Championship at Al Hamra Golf Club brought the 2023 Desert Swing to a close last week.

Nicolai Højgaard had successfully defended his title, while Ryan Fox, Adri Arnaus, Jens Dentorp – all previous winners of other events at Al Hamra – had joined the 2023 season winners Dan Bradbury, Thriston Lawrence, Adrian Meronk, Ockie Strydom and Victor Perez in the field.

Ryan Fox was presented with the Seve Ballesteros Award – honouring him as Player of the Year by his fellow professionals on the DP World Tour – before achieving his best result of this new campaign.

After a 2022 that saw him claim two wins, four second-places and four other top tens en route to finishing second in the Rankings, he had indeed rediscovered some spark for 2023.

Padraig Harrington had also been in the mix right until the very end after recording a fourth-placed finish in Abu Dhabi. He would have become the oldest victor in DP World Tour history with a 16th win but unfortunately fell short in this event last season.