The FedEx Cup Winners List (2007 to Present)

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

Here is a list of all the FedEx Cup Winners since 2007

  • 2022 Rory McIlroy
  • 2021 Patrick Cantlay
  • 2020 Dustin Johnson
  • 2019 Rory McIlroy
  • 2018 Justin Rose
  • 2017 Justin Thomas
  • 2016 Rory McIlroy
  • 2015 Jordan Spieth
  • 2014 Billy Horschel
  • 2013 Henrik Stenson
  • 2012 Brandt Snedeker
  • 2011 Bill Haas
  • 2010 Jim Furyk
  • 2009 Tiger Woods
  • 2008 Vijay Singh
  • 2007 Tiger Woods

What Is The FedEx Cup

Unsurprising and unimaginatively the competition is named after its sponsor: FedEx.

The FedEx Cup is a championship trophy for the PGA Tour and is won by the golfer that earns the most ‘Fedex Points’ throughout the PGA Tour season.

Fedex points fluctuate in value based on the tournament played and final scoring positions of golfers.

The top 125 Players in the Season Long Points table will qualify for the Play Offs

There are two play-off competitions before the season ending Tour Championship.

Making The The Cut

After each play-off there is effectively a cut, meaning the amount of players taking part is reduced.

The field is reduced from 125 Players at The Jude Championship, to 70 Players at The BMW Championship and then to the final 30 Players for The Tour Championship

  • The Jude Championship
  • The BMW Championship
  • The Tour Championship

For the Tour Championship, only the top 30 points leaders after the BMW Championship are eligible.

What Are The FedEx Cup Play Off Competitions

There are two play-offs competitions before the season ending Tour Championship

  • The Jude Championship (Play-Off)
  • The BMW Championship (Play-Off)
  • The Tour Championship

For the Tour Championship, only the top 30 points leaders after the BMW Championship are eligible.

If for any reason, a player among the top 30 does not compete in the Tour Championship, he will not be replaced.

Tour Championship Winners and the Playoff Winners since 2022

The Jude Championship was introduced in 2022. This was previously known as The Northern Trust, and prior to that was previously known as The Barclays

Click on the names of the Winners and you will be able to watch video highlights from their Wins

YearJude ChampionshipBMW ChampionshipTour Championship
2022Will ZalatorisPatrick CantlayRory McIlroy

Tour Championship Winners and the Playoff Winners from 2019 to 2021

Click on the names of the Winners and you will be able to watch video highlights from their Wins

YearThe Northern TrustBMW ChampionshipTour Championship
2021Tony FinauPatrick CantlayPatrick Cantlay
2020Dustin JohnsonJon RahmDustin Johnson
2019Patrick ReedJustin ThomasRory McIlroy

Previous to this there was also the Dell Technologies Championship which was removed from the schedule after the 2018 season

Tour Championship Winners and the Playoff Winners

including the Dell Technologies from 2007 to 2018

Click on the names of the Winners and you will be able to watch video highlights from their Wins

YearNorthern TrustDell Technologies ChampionshipBMW ChampionshipTour Championship
2018Bryson DeChambeauBryson DeChambeauKeegan BradleyTiger Woods
2017Dustin JohnsonJustin ThomasMarc LeishmanXander Schauffele
2016Patrick ReedRory McIlroyDustin JohnsonRory McIlroy
2015Jason DayRickie FowlerJason DayJordan Spieth
2014Hunter MahanChris KirkBilly HorschelBilly Horschel
2013Adam ScottHenrik StensonZach JohnsonHenrik Stenson
2012Nick WatneyRory McIlroyRory McIlroyBrandt Snedeker
2011Dustin JohnsonWebb SimpsonJustin RoseBill Haas
2010Matt KucharCharley HoffmanDustin JohnsonJim Furyk
2009Heath SlocumSteve StrickerTiger WoodsPhil Mickelson
2008Vijay SinghVijay SinghCamilo VillegasCamilo Villegas
2007Steve StrickerPhil MickelsonTiger WoodsTiger Woods

Who qualifies for the the FedEx Cup

Through the first part of the season, the “regular season” from October through August, PGA Tour players earn points in each event they play.

The number of points for winning each tournament varies from 250 to 600, depending on the quality of the field for each event, with the typical tournament awarding 500.

The goal is to be among the top 125 points leaders following the final event of the regular season.

At the end of the regular season, the top 125 players participate in the playoffs. Points won in playoff events are added to those for the regular season, and the fields are reduced as the playoffs proceed.

The number of points awarded for winning each playoff event is 2000, which is four times the amount awarded for a typical regular season tournament.

Five Year PGA Tour Exemption

The winner of the FedEx Cup also receives a five-year exemption on the PGA Tour, mirroring the exemption that was given to the tour’s leading money winner prior to 2017.

Before the change in format in 2019 that made it impossible for the FedEx Cup and the Tour Championship to be won by two different players, the Tour Championship winner received a three-year exemption. Winners of other playoff events receive only the standard 2-year exemption.

Since 2013 the top 125 on the FedEx Cup points list also retain their tour cards for the following season

Beginning with the 2013 season, non-exempt players who finish 126th-150th in the FedEx Cup are given conditional PGA Tour status, but can attempt to improve their priority rankings through the Korn Ferry Tour Finals.

How Much Do The Players Win In The FedEx Cup

From 2019, the player with the most points after the Tour Championship wins the FedEx Cup itself and receives $15 million of a $70 million bonus fund.

From 2022, with the arrival of the LIV Golf Tour, the Top 30 Bonus Money was increased again, with the winner picking up $18M USD.

I would expect to see the prize funds increase each year as the PGA Tour tries to keep pace with the latest money giveaway in golf.

It may well be helping keep the stars in line with other sports but it is also further removing them from the average fan.

This is the FedEx Cup Top 30 Bonus Money allocation for 2022 and the Players who won the money

Position2022 Top 30 Bonus MoneyPosition2022 Top 30 Bonus Money
PositionPlayerHeadstartScoreTo Par
1Rory McIlroy-4263-21
T2Sungjae Im-4264-20
T2Scottie Scheffler-10270-20
4Xander Schauffele-6268-18
T5Max Homa-2265-17
T5Justin Thomas-3266-17
T7Sepp Straka-4268-16
T7Patrick Cantlay-8272-16
9Tony Finau-4269-15
10Tom Hoge-1267-14
T11Joaquin Niemann-2269-13
T11Hideki Matsuyama-2269-13
T13Jordan Spieth-2270-12
T13Aaron WiseEven Par268-12
T15Viktor Hovland-2271-11
T15Matt Fitzpatrick-3272-11
T15J.T. PostonEven Par269-11
T15Jon Rahm-3272-11
19Cameron Young-3273-10
20Cameron Smith-4275-9
T21Brian Harman-1273-8
T21Billy Horschel-1273-8
T21Collin Morikawa-1273-8
24Sam Burns-5278-7
25Adam ScottEven Par276-4
26Corey Conners-1278-3
27K.H. LeeEven Par279-1
28Sahith TheegalaEven Par281+1
29Scott Stallings-3286+3

Will Zalatoris withdrew from The Tour Championship due to an injury, which is such a shame as he played beautifully to win The St Jude Championship in the Play-Offs and he was sure to feature in the leading groups. We wish Will a speedy recovery.