17th hole at Sawgrass

2021 Justin Thomas Wins The Players Championship

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

The Players Championship returned to TPC Sawgrass after 2020’s unprecedented cancellation after the first round due to the emerging coronavirus pandemic.

Dustin Johnson – the reigning FedExCup champion and current World No. 1 – led a field that included 27 of the top 30 in the FedExCup standings and 47 of the World’s top 50.

With no champion crowned in 2020, Rory McIlroy – who would go on to win the FedExCup for the second time after winning The Players in 2019 – will look to defend his title from two years ago.

In total there were 108 PGA Tour winners teeing it up at TPC Sawgrass but it was Justin Thomas who claimed his 14th PGA TOUR victory, carding rounds of 71-71-64-68 to finish 14-under par and win by one shot.