Masters Champions List (1934 to present)

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

The Masters Tournament is one of the four major championships in professional golf and it always takes place at Augusta National Golf Club.

Unlike other majors, The Masters Tournament starts off the calendar year with a week-long event that also includes social events such as parades, fireworks displays and concerts for attendees to enjoy before playing 18 holes on this private course in Georgia.

The tournament has a number of traditions. The champion is given an iconic green jacket to wear during the ceremony, but must return it one year after his victory so that new champions can take their turn wearing them as well.

In some cases though, if they are not in need for another size or just want to replace theirs with newer jackets on hand, then only reigning and first-time winners may remove their golfing attire from the clubhouse grounds

Listed below are each of the Masters Champions since the competition’s inception in 1934

Masters Champion 2020 to 2029

YearMasters ChampionScore
2023Jon Rahm276
2022Scottie Scheffler278
2021Hideki Matsuyama278
2020Dustin Johnson268

Masters Champion 2010 to 2019

YearMasters ChampionScore
2019Tiger Woods275
2018Patrick Reed273
2017Sergio Garcia279
2016Danny Willett283
2015Jordan Spieth270
2014Bubba Watson280
2013Adam Scott279
2012Bubba Watson278
2011Charl Schwartzel274
2010Phil Mickelson272

Masters Champion 2000 to 2009

YearMasters ChampionScore
2009Ángel Cabrera276
2008Trevor Immelman280
2007Zach Johnson289
2006Phil Mickelson281
2005Tiger Woods276
2004Phil Mickelson279
2003Mike Weir281
2002Tiger Woods276
2001Tiger Woods272
2000Vijay Singh278

Masters Champion 1990 to 1999

YearMasters ChampionScore
1999José María Olazábal280
1998Mark O’Meara279
1997Tiger Woods270
1996Nick Faldo276
1995Ben Crenshaw274
1994José María Olazábal279
1993Bernhard Langer277
1992Fred Couples275
1991Ian Woosnam277
1990Nick Faldo278

Masters Champion 1980 to 1989

YearMasters ChampionScore
1989Nick Faldo283
1988Sandy Lyle281
1987Larry Mize285
1986Jack Nicklaus279
1985Bernhard Langer282
1984Ben Crenshaw277
1983Seve Ballesteros280
1982Craig Stadler284
1981Tom Watson280
1980Seve Ballesteros275

Masters Champion 1970 to 1979

YearMasters ChampionScore
1979Fuzzy Zoeller280
1978Gary Player277
1977Tom Watson276
1976Raymond Floyd271
1975Jack Nicklaus276
1974Gary Player278
1973Tommy Aaron283
1972Jack Nicklaus286
1971Charles Coody279
1970Billy Casper279

Masters Champion 1960 to 1969

YearMasters ChampionScore
1969George Archer281
1968Bob Goalby277
1967Gay Brewer280
1966Jack Nicklaus288
1965Jack Nicklaus271
1964Arnold Palmer276
1963Jack Nicklaus286
1962Arnold Palmer280
1961Gary Player280
1960Arnold Palmer282

Masters Champion 1950 to 1959

YearMasters ChampionScore
1959Art Wall284
1958Arnold Palmer284
1957Doug Ford283
1956Jack Burke, Jr.289
1955Cary Middlecoff279
1954Sam Snead289
1953Ben Hogan274
1952Sam Snead286
1951Ben Hogan274
1950Jimmy Demaret283

Masters Champion 1940 to 1949

The Masters Competition was on hold during World War 2 (1943-1945)

YearMasters ChampionScore
1949Sam Snead282
1948Claude Harmon279
1947Jimmy Demaret281
1946Herman Keiser282
1942Byron Nelson280
1941Craig Wood280
1940Jimmy Demaret280

Masters Champion 1934 to 1939

YearMasters ChampionScore
1939Ralph Guldahl279
1938Henry Picard285
1937Byron Nelson283
1936Horton Smith285
1935Gene Sarazen282
1934Horton Smith284