The Open Championship Claret Jug

The Open Championship Winners (1860 To Present Day)

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

The world’s best golfers have faced the unrelenting challenge of links golf at The Open, which is considered to be the original and most international Championship.

In October 1860, eight professional players assembled in Prestwick for a tournament where one golfer would win £25 worth of red Moroccan leather-crafted belt named “The Challenge Belt.”

Willie Park Snr was crowned Champion Golfer after defeating Old Tom Morris by two shots.

In 1864, Prestwick held another competition that allowed all amateur competitors from around Europe to join them; this time it became known as The Open Championship

The Open Championship is widely regarded as being both challenging and prestigious enough for every player on Earth who wishes to become the next champion.

The Open Champion 2020 to 2023

YearVenueThe Open Champion
2023Royal LiverpoolBrian Harman
2022St AndrewsCameron Smith
2021Royal St George’sCollin Morikawa
2020Not ContestedNot Contested

The Open Champion 2010 to 2019

YearVenueThe Open Champion
2019Royal PortrushShane Lowry
2018CarnoustieFrancesco Molinari
2017Royal BirkdaleJordan Spieth
2016Royal TroonHenrik Stenson
2015St AndrewsZach Johnson
2014Royal LiverpoolRory McIlroy
2013MuirfieldPhil Mickelson
2012Royal Lytham & St AnnesErnie Els
2011Royal St George’sDarren Clarke
2010St AndrewsLouis Oosthuizen

The Open Champion 2000 to 2009

YearVenueThe Open Champion
2009TurnberryStewart Cink
2008Royal BirkdalePadraig Harrington
2007CarnoustiePadraig Harrington
2006Royal LiverpoolTiger Woods
2005St AndrewsTiger Woods
2004Royal TroonTodd Hamilton
2003Royal St George’sBen Curtis
2002MuirfieldErnie Els
2001Royal Lytham & St AnnesDavid Duval
2000St AndrewsTiger Woods

The Open Champion 1990 to 1999

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1999CarnoustiePaul Lawrie
1998Royal BirkdaleMark O’Meara
1997Royal TroonJustin Leonard
1996Royal Lytham & St AnnesTom Lehman
1995St AndrewsJohn Daly
1994TurnberryNick Price
1993Royal St George’sGreg Norman
1992MuirfieldSir Nick Faldo
1991Royal BirkdaleIan Baker-Finch
1990St AndrewsSir Nick Faldo

The Open Champion 1980 to 1989

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1989Royal TroonMark Calcavecchia
1988Royal Lytham & St AnnesSeve Ballesteros
1987MuirfieldSir Nick Faldo
1986TurnberryGreg Norman
1985Royal St George’sSandy Lyle
1984St AndrewsSeve Ballesteros
1983Royal BirkdaleTom Watson
1982Royal TroonTom Watson
1981Royal St George’sBill Rogers
1980MuirfieldTom Watson

The Open Champion 1970 to 1979

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1979Royal Lytham & St AnnesSeve Ballesteros
1978St AndrewsJack Nicklaus
1977TurnberryTom Watson
1976Royal BirkdaleJohnny Miller
1975CarnoustieTom Watson
1974Royal Lytham & St AnnesGary Player
1973Royal TroonTom Weiskopf
1972MuirfieldLee Trevino
1971Royal BirkdaleLee Trevino
1970St AndrewsJack Nicklaus

The Open Champion 1960 to 1969

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1969Royal Lytham & St AnnesTony Jacklin
1968CarnoustieGary Player
1967Royal LiverpoolRoberto De Vicenzo
1966MuirfieldJack Nicklaus
1965Royal BirkdalePeter Thomson
1964St AndrewsTony Lema
1963Royal Lytham & St AnnesBob Charles
1962Royal TroonArnold Palmer
1961Royal BirkdaleArnold Palmer
1960St AndrewsKel Nagle

The Open Champion 1950 to 1959

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1959MuirfieldGary Player
1958Royal Lytham & St AnnesPeter Thomson
1957St AndrewsBobby Locke
1956Royal LiverpoolPeter Thomson
1955St AndrewsPeter Thomson
1954Royal BirkdalePeter Thomson
1953CarnoustieBen Hogan
1952Royal Lytham & St AnnesBobby Locke
1951Royal PortrushMax Faulkner
1950Royal TroonBobby Locke

The Open Champion 1940 to 1949

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1949Bobby LockeRoyal St George’s
1948Henry CottonMuirfield
1947Fred DalyRoyal Liverpool
1946Sam SneadSt Andrews
1940 – 1945Not ContestedWord War II

The Open Champion 1930 to 1939

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1939St AndrewsDick Burton
1938Royal St George’sReg Whitcombe
1937CarnoustieHenry Cotton
1936Royal LiverpoolAlf Padgham
1935MuirfieldAlf Perry
1934Royal St George’sHenry Cotton
1933St AndrewsDenny Shute
1932Prince’sGene Sarazen
1931CarnoustieTommy Armour
1930Royal LiverpoolBobby Jones (A)

The Open Champion 1920 to 1929

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1929MuirfieldWalter Hagen
1928Royal St George’sWalter Hagen
1927St AndrewsBobby Jones (A)
1926Royal Lytham & St AnnesBobby Jones (A)
1925PrestwickJim Barnes
1924Royal LiverpoolWalter Hagen
1923Royal TroonArthur Havers
1922Royal St George’sWalter Hagen
1921St AndrewsJock Hutchison
1920Royal Cinque PortsGeorge Duncan

The Open Champion 1910 to 1919

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1915-1919Not ContestedWorld War I
1914PrestwickHarry Vardon
1913Royal LiverpoolJ H Taylor
1912MuirfieldTed Ray
1911Royal St George’sHarry Vardon
1910St AndrewsJames Braid

The Open Champion 1900 to 1909

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1909Royal Cinque PortsJ H Taylor
1908PrestwickJames Braid
1907Royal LiverpoolArnaud Massy
1906MuirfieldJames Braid
1905St AndrewsJames Braid
1904Royal St George’sJack White
1903PrestwickHarry Vardon
1902Royal LiverpoolSandy Herd
1901MuirfieldJames Braid
1900St AndrewsJ H Taylor

The Open Champion 1890 to 1899

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1899Royal St George’sHarry Vardon
1898PrestwickHarry Vardon
1897Royal LiverpoolHarold Hilton
1896MuirfieldHarry Vardon
1895St AndrewsJ H Taylor
1894Royal St George’sJ H Taylor
1893PrestwickWillie Auchterlonie
1892MuirfieldHarold Hilton
1891St AndrewsHugh Kirkaldy
1890PrestwickJohn Ball

The Open Champion 1880 to 1889

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1889Musselburgh LinksWillie Park Jr
1888St AndrewsJack Burns
1887PrestwickWillie Park Jr
1886Musselburgh LinksDavid Brown
1885St AndrewsBob Martin
1884PrestwickJack Simpson
1883Musselburgh LinksWillie Fernie
1882St AndrewsBob Ferguson
1881PrestwickBob Ferguson
1880Musselburgh LinksBob Ferguson

The Open Champion 1870 to 1879

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1879St AndrewsJamie Anderson
1878PrestwickJamie Anderson
1877Musselburgh LinksJamie Anderson
1876St AndrewsBob Martin
1875PrestwickWillie Park Snr
1874Musselburgh LinksMungo Park
1873St AndrewsTom Kidd
1872PrestwickTom Morris Jr
1871Not ContestedNo Trophy
1870PrestwickTom Morris Jr

The Open Champion 1860 to 1869

YearVenueThe Open Champion
1869PrestwickTom Morris Jr
1868PrestwickTom Morris Jr
1867PrestwickTom Morris Snr
1866PrestwickWillie Park Snr
1865PrestwickAndrew Strath
1864PrestwickTom Morris Snr
1863PrestwickWillie Park Snr
1862PrestwickTom Morris Snr
1861PrestwickTom Morris Snr
1860PrestwickWillie Park Snr