pga championship trophy

PGA Championship Winners (1916 to Present)

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

The PGA Championship (often referred to as the US PGA Championship or USPGA outside the United States is an annual golf tournament conducted by the Professional Golfers’ Association of America.

It is one of the four men’s major championships in professional golf and is an official money event on the PGA Tour, European Tour, and Japan Golf Tour.

Winning the PGA Championship gains privileges that improve career security.

PGA champions are automatically invited to play in the other three majors (Masters Tournament, U.S. Open, and The Open Championship) and The Players Championship for the next five years, and are also eligible for the PGA Championship for life.

The Winners also receive memberships on the PGA Tour for five years and on the European Tour for seven years.

PGA Champion 2020 to 2019

YearPGA ChampionScore
2023Brooks Koepka271
2022Justin Thomas286
2021Phil Mickelson282
2020Collin Morikawa267

PGA Champion 2010 to 2019

YearPGA ChampionScore
2019Brooks Koepka272
2018Brooks Koepka264
2017Justin Thomas276
2016Jimmy Walker266
2015Jason Day268
2014Rory McIlroy268
2013Jason Dufner270
2012Rory McIlroy275
2011Keegan Bradley272
2010Martin Kaymer277

PGA Champion 2000 to 2009

YearPGA ChampionScore
2009Y.E. Yang280
2008Padraig Harrington277
2007Tiger Woods272
2006Tiger Woods270
2005Phil Mickelson276
2004Vijay Singh280
2003Shaun Micheel276
2002Rich Beem278
2001David Toms265
2000Tiger Woods270

PGA Champion 1990 to 1999

YearPGA ChampionScore
1999Tiger Woods277
1998Vijay Singh271
1997Davis Love III269
1996Mark Brooks277
1995Steve Elkington267
1994Nick Price269
1993Paul Azinger272
1992Nick Price278
1991John Daly276
1990Wayne Grady282

PGA Champion 1980 to 1989

YearPGA ChampionScore
1989Payne Stewart276
1988Jeff Sluman272
1987Larry Nelson287
1986Bob Tway276
1985Hubert Green278
1984Lee Trevino273
1983Hal Sutton274
1982Raymond Floyd272
1981Larry Nelson273
1980Jack Nicklaus274

PGA Champion 1970 to 1979

YearPGA ChampionScore
1979David Graham272
1978John Mahaffey276
1977Lanny Wadkins282
1976Dave Stockton281
1975Jack Nicklaus276
1974Lee Trevino276
1973Jack Nicklaus277
1972Gary Player281
1971Jack Nicklaus281
1970Dave Stockton279

PGA Champion 1960 to 1969

YearPGA ChampionScore
1969Raymond Floyd276
1968Julius Boros281
1967Don January281
1966Al Geiberger280
1965Dave Marr280
1964Bobby Nichols271
1963Jack Nicklaus279
1962Gary Player278
1961Jerry Barber277
1960Jay Hebert281

PGA Champion 1950 to 1959

YearPGA ChampionScore
1959Bob Rosburg277
1958Dow Finsterwald276
1957Lionel Hebert
1956Jack Burke, Jr.
1955Doug Ford
1954Chick Harbert
1953Walter Burkemo
1952Jim Turnesa
1951Sam Snead
1950Chandler Harper

PGA Champion 1940 to 1949

YearPGA Champion
1949Sam Snead
1948Ben Hogan
1947Jim Ferrier
1946Ben Hogan
1945Byron Nelson
1944Bob Hamilton
1942Sam Snead
1941Victor Ghezzi
1940Byron Nelson

PGA Champion 1930 to 1939

YearPGA Champion
1939Henry Picard
1938Paul Runyan
1937Denny Shute
1936Denny Shute
1935Johnny Revolta
1934Paul Runyan
1933Gene Sarazen
1932Olin Dutra
1931Tom Creavy
1930Tommy Armour

PGA Champion 1920 to 1929

YearPGA Champion
1929Leo Diegel
1928Leo Diegel
1927Walter Hagen
1926Walter Hagen
1925Walter Hagen
1924Walter Hagen
1923Gene Sarazen
1922Gene Sarazen
1921Walter Hagen
1920Jock Hutchison

PGA Champion 1916 to 1919

YearPGA Champion
1919James Barnes
1916James Barnes