US Open Trophy

US Open Winners List (1895 to Present)

Photo of author

By Golf Histories

The United States Open Championship, commonly known as the U.S. Open, is the annual open national championship of golf in the United States.

It is the third of the four major championships in golf, and is on the official schedule of both the PGA Tour and the European Tour.

The first three events were played over 36 holes but since 1898 the competition has been 72 holes of stroke play (4 rounds on an 18-hole course), with the winner being the player with the lowest total number of strokes.

As it stands now, $12.5 million dollars are awarded for first place- making it one of four major championships where the players earn millions!

It’s widely regarded that the U.S Open is difficult to play in because of how they set up each course, with a high premium on accurate driving and scoring well. But on occasion the pursuit of difficulty has sometimes turned tough courses into unplayable ones.


US Open Winners 2020 to 2029

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
2023Los AngelesWyndham Clark270 (-10)
2022BrooklineMatt Fitzpatrick274 (-6)
2021Torrey PinesJon Rahm278 (-6)
2020Winged FootBryson DeChambeau274 (-6)

US Open Winners 2010 to 2019

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
2019Pebble BeachGary Woodland271 (-13)
2018Shinnecock HillsBrooks Koepka281 (+1)
2017Erin HillsBrooks Koepka272 (-16)
2016OakmontDustin Johnson276 (-4)
2015Chambers BayJordan Spieth275 (-5)
2014PinehurstMartin Kaymer271 (-9)
2013MerionJustin Rose281 (+1)
2012The Olympic ClubWebb Simpson281 (+1)
2011CongressionalRory McIlroy268 (-16)
2010Pebble BeachGraeme McDowell284 (E)

US Open Winners 2000 to 2009

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
2009BethpageLucas Glover276 (-4)
2008Torrey PinesTiger Woods281 (-1)
2007OakmontAngel Cabrera285 (+5)
2006Winged FootGeoff Ogilvy285 (+5)
2005PinehurstMichael Campbell280 (E)
2004Shinnecock HillsRetief Goosen276 (-4)
2003Olympia FieldsJim Furyk272 (-8)
2002BethpageTiger Woods277 (-3)
2001Southern HillsRetief Goosen276 (-4)
2000Pebble BeachTiger Woods272 (-12)

US Open Winners 1990 to 1999

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1999PinehurstPayne Stewart279 (-1)
1998The Olympic ClubLee Janzen280 (E)
1997CongressionalErnie Els276 (-4)
1996Oakland HillsSteve Jones278 (-2)
1995Shinnecock HillsCorey Pavin280 (E)
1994OakmontErnie Els279 (-5)
1993BaltusrolLee Janzen272 (-8)
1992Pebble BeachTom Kite285 (-3)
1991Hazeltine NationalPayne Stewart282 (-6)
1990MedinahHale Irwin280 (-8)

US Open Winners 1980 to 1989

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1989Oak HillCurtis Strange278 (-2)
1988The Country ClubCurtis Strange278 (-6)
1987The Olympic ClubScott Simpson277 (-3)
1986Shinnecock HillsRaymond Floyd279 (-1)
1985Oakland HillsAndy North279 (-1)
1984Winged FootFuzzy Zoeller276 (-4)
1983OakmontLarry Nelson280 (-4)
1982Pebble BeachTom Watson282 (-6)
1981MerionDavid Graham273 (-7)
1980BaltusrolJack Nicklaus272 (-8)

US Open Winners 1970 to 1979

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1979Inverness ClubHale Irwin284 (E)
1978Cherry HillsAndy North285 (+1)
1977Southern HillsHubert Green278 (-2)
1976Atlanta Athletic ClubJerry Pate277 (-3)
1975MedinahLou Graham287 (+3)
1974Winged FootHale Irwin287 (+7)
1973OakmontJohnny Miller279 (-5)
1972Pebble BeachJack Nicklaus290 (+2)
1971MerionLee Trevino280 (E)
1970Hazeltine NationalTony Jacklin281 (-7)

US Open Winners 1960 to 1969

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1969Champions Golf ClubOrville Moody281 (+1)
1968Oak HillLee Trevino275 (-5)
1967BaltusrolJack Nicklaus275 (-5)
1966The Olympic ClubBilly Casper Jr278 (-2)
1965BelleriveGary Player282 (+2)
1964CongressionalKen Venturi278 (-2)
1963The Country ClubJulius Boros293 (+9)
1962OakmontJack Nicklaus283 (-1)
1961Oakland HillsGene Littler281 (+1)
1960Cherry HillsArnold Palmer280 (-4)

US Open Winners 1950 to 1959

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1959Winged FootBilly Casper Jr282 (+2)
1958Southern HillsTommy Bolt283 (+3)
1957Inverness ClubDick Mayer282 (+2)
1956Oak HillCary Middlecoff281 (+1)
1955The Olympic ClubJack Fleck287 (+7)
1954BaltusrolEd Furgol284 (+4)
1953OakmontBen Hogan283 (-5)
1952Northwood ClubJulius Boros281 (+1)
1951Oakland HillsBen Hogan287 (+7)
1950MerionBen Hogan287 (+7)

US Open Winners 1940 to 1949

The US Open Competition was on hold during World War 2 for four years (1942 & 1945)

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1949MedinahCary Middlecoff286 (+2)
1948RivieraBen Hogan276 (-8)
1947St. Louis C.C.Lew Worsham282 (-2)
1946Canterbury C.C.Lloyd Mangrum284 (-4)
1941ColonialCraig Wood284 (+4)
1940CanterburyLawson Little287 (-1)

US Open Winners 1930 to 1939

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1939Philadelphia C.C.Byron Nelson284 (E)
1938Cherry HillsRalph Guldahl281 (-7)
1937Oakland Hills C.C.Ralph Guldahl282 (-6)
1936Baltusrol Golf ClubTony Manero282 (-6)
1935Oakmont C.C.Sam Parks Jr299 (+11)
1934MerionOlin Dutra293 (+13)
1933North ShoreJohnny Goodman (Am)287 (-1)
1932Fresh MeadowGene Sarazen286 (+6)
1931Inverness ClubBilly Burke292 (+8)
1930InterlachenBob Jones (Am)287 (-1)

US Open Winners 1920 to 1929

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1929Winged FootBob Jones (Am)294 (+6)
1928Olympia FieldsJohnny Farrell294 (+10)
1927OakmontTommy Armour301 (+13)
1926Scioto Country ClubBob Jones (Am)293 (+5)
1925Worcester C.C.William Macfarlane291 (+7)
1924Oakland Hills C.C.Cyril Walker297 (+9)
1923Inwood Country ClubBob Jones (Am)296 (+8)
1922Skokie Country ClubGene Sarazen288 (+8)
1921Columbia C.C.James M. Barnes289 (+9)
1920Inverness ClubEdward Ray295 (+7)

US Open Winners 1910 to 1919

The US Open Competition was on hold during World War 1 for two years (1917 & 1918)

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1919Brae Burn C.C.Walter Hagen301 (+17)
1916Minikahda ClubCharles Evans Jr (Am)
1915Baltusrol Golf ClubJerome D. Travers (Am)286 (-2)
1914Midlothian C.C.Walter Hagen297 (+9)
1913The Country ClubFrancis Ouimet (Am)290 (+2)
1912C.C. of BuffaloJohn J. McDermott304 (+20)
1911Chicago Golf ClubJohn J. McDermott294 (-2)
1910Philadelphia Cricket ClubAlex Smith307 (+3)

US Open Winners 1900 to 1909

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1909Englewood Golf ClubGeorge Sargent298 (+6)
1908Myopia Hunt ClubFred McLeod290
1907Philadelphia Cricket ClubAlex Ross322
1906Onwentsia ClubAlex Smith302
1905Myopia Hunt ClubWillie Anderson295
1904Glen View ClubWillie Anderson314
1903Baltusrol Golf ClubWillie Anderson303
1902Garden City Golf ClubLaurence Auchterlonie307
1901Myopia Hunt ClubWillie Anderson331
1900Chicago Golf ClubHarry Vardon313

US Open Winners 1895 to 1899

YearVenueUS Open ChampionScore
1899Baltimore C.C.Willie Smith315
1898Myopia Hunt ClubFred Herd328
1897Chicago Golf ClubJoe Lloyd162
1896Shinnecock Hills G.C.James Foulis152
1895Newport Golf ClubHorace Rawlins173